top of page

I Just Love a Good Cookbook!


I, like most of us, have given my email away to to.many. email lists. I see the irony in it...after all, I have an email list myself that I encourage my customers to join. I try to be intentional about those I keep and unsubscribe to the others. One I not only keep but also open is from Jennifer Segal's blog "Once Upon a Chef."

A few years ago one of the emails included an ask in addition to recipe links. A new cookbook was in the works, and would I be interested in being a recipe tester? ABSOLUTELY, Jennifer, absolutely. After all, my family had already enjoyed many recipes from the blog. (in fact, have not cooked a single dud, fail, what-have-you). I replied positively to the request and eventually had a list of recipes in front of me to test, get feedback from family members, and pass feedback along to Jennifer. As many recipes as I could, by a certain date.

We ate well that season!! once upon a chef Weeknight/Weekend is the resulting cookbook.

An adulthood of military moves taught me to value every bit of shelf space, every bit of our weight allowance, so I am necessarily stingy with what cookbooks earn a tryout on my bookshelf...and what ones earn coveted tenure! Once Upon a Chef's book has passed the first hurdle with flying colors. I knew it would be my first book review on my own little slice of internet, and wouldn't you know - it was the latest recipe email and subsequent dinner last night that served as the kick in my bum I needed to finally do so.

Meet "Shrimp Saganaki," or as my boys have chosen to call it, Shrimp Bruschetta. AKA Italian Salsa, lol. I hadn't yet cooked it from the cookbook, but it is in there - as Greek-Style Shrimp with Tomatoes & Feta.


You can make it as mild or as spicy as your family would like and it will be on the table in 30 minutes.


So if you already have the cookbook, grab it and go. If not, try out this recipe from Jennifer's blog, then decide from yourself if it might just be the new cookbook you're looking for for this new year! (and from my social media feed it looks as though many of us are on the hunt)

13 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page